Royal Pharmaceutical Society / Pharmacy Research UK Award

The RPS/PRUK Award celebrates excellence in research related to the practice of pharmacy.

The award is intended to recognise individuals who have made a significant contribution to the field of pharmacy practice research and have the potential to become a leader in the field. Applicants for the award are assessed against a number of criteria, in line with the Royal Pharmaceutical Society’s Faculty Research & Evaluation competencies including their career history, research impact and their proposed lecture topic.

Applications are accepted from all over the world and are judged by the RPS Annual Conference Research Panel. The winner receives a £1000 cheque and delivers a lecture at the conference and they are also invited to the RPS conference awards dinner where they formally receive their award.

The 2017 award winner was Dr Sarah Slight, a Reader in Pharmacy Practice at Newcastle University and Visiting Research Scholar at Harvard Medical School and Bringham and Women’s Hospital, Boston, Massachusetts.  


Previous award holders include:

2016 RPS/PRUK Practice Research Award recipient Dr Debi Bhattacharya


Dr Debi Bhattacharya, Senior Lecturer in Pharmacy Practice at the University of East Anglia School of Pharmacy, the Chair of the East Anglia Local Practice Forum and holds a certificate in Higher Education Practice.

“Research success is underpinned by excellence of the team; I would like to take this opportunity to thank my research students, colleagues, and patient and public representatives who have worked with me to deliver high quality research”

See more about Dr Bhattacharya’s award in our press release.




Dr David Alldred, Associate Professor of Pharmacy Practice and Professional Lead for Pharmacy at the University of Leeds. Dr Alldred’s Award winning lectured focused on ‘Optimising medicines for older care home residents: now and the future

Dr Alldred worked as a clinical pharmacist in secondary care for five years before joining the University of Leeds as a research clinical pharmacist conducting a randomised controlled trial of pharmacist-led medication review for care home residents. His research has included managing the Care Homes’ Use of Medicines study (CHUMS), a UK Department of Health funded national study of medication errors in care homes. Dr Alldred was appointed as Associate Professor in Pharmacy Practice at the University of Leeds in April 2015 where he continues to conduct medicines optimisation research. He has been a member of the Guideline Development Group for the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)  ‘medicines management in care homes’ Good Practice Guidance.


2014 Pharmacy Research UK Award recipient Dr Ellen Schafheutle

2014 RPS/PRUK Award recipient Dr Ellen Schafheutle

Dr Ellen Schafheutle, Senior Lecturer in Law & Professionalism in Pharmacy, Director Centre for Pharmacy Workforce Studies at the University of Manchester.

Dr Schafheutle’s Award winning lectured focused on ‘Research informed pharmacy policy & practice: Answers to big questions – getting the detail right.

See more about Dr Schafheutle’s award in our press release.